Two Summer Reading Challenges

On Goodreads, my CanadianContent group has monthly reading challenges. July’s is to read across Canada, that is, to read books set in each province or by an author from each province. That’s 13 books by Canadian authors, and since that’s a lot for one month, they’ve decided to extend it from June 1 to end of July. I have most of the ones I want to read picked out. Also, June’s challenge is to read some books by Indigenous authors. There’s a couple that I have so I’ll do that, with one of them working for the Cross Canada challenge and which will fit the ongoing 2017 Bingo reading challenge. Still with me?

On 746Books, Cathy has a summer reading challenge, too, and hers runs from June 1 to the end of August. She’s planning to read 20 books though if you join the challenge, you can aim for 10 or 15. Her list of choices has some interesting looking books. I may see if I can get hold of a few of them through the library. Here is a page with links to other people that are participating.

I think I will join this challenge since my Cross Canada one will knock off 13 which is a good start. That challenge ends July 31, and I generally average 7 or 8 books a month.

The Cross Canada books are: (I haven’t found one to fit for Alberta but I will do. )

British Columbia:
Book: The Jade Peony by Wayson Choy
3.5 stars, Finished June 19
Have I Visited BC?: Yes, and visiting again this year

Alberta
Book: Don’t know but there’s a good list of authors from Alberta here to investigate.
Have I Visited Alberta?: No

Saskatchewan
Book: Alone in the Classroom by Elizabeth Hay
Have I Visited?: No

Manitoba:
Book: Ravenscraig by Sandi Krawchenko Altner
Have I Visited Saskatchewan?: No

Ontario
Book: Indian Horse by Richard Wagamese (or something by Margaret Atwood)
Rating:
Have I Visited Ontario?: Yes

Quebec
Book: Barney’s Version – Mordecai Richler
Rating: 4.5 of 5 stars  Finished June 14
Have I Visited Quebec?: Yes

New Brunswick
Book: Incidents in the life of Marcus Paul or Crimes Against My Brother by David Adams Richards
Have I Visited New Brunswick?: Yes

Nova Scotia
Book: Ava Comes Home by Lesley Crewe – Finished  June 11
Have I Visited?: Live here

Prince Edward Island
Book: Tide Road by Valery Compton
Have I Visited PEI?: Yes

Newfoundland & Labrador
Book: Baygirl by Heather Smith  – Finished May 27
Have I Visited?: Yes

Nunavut
Book: Rankin Inlet by Mara Feeney
Have I Visited?: No

Northwest Territories
Book: Late Nights on Air by Elizabeth Hay
Have I Visited?: No

Yukon
Book: Gold Fever by Vicki Delany – Finished June 9
Have I Visited the Yukon?: No

I’m still not sure what else to fill up the 20 for the 20 Books of Summer.

Court of Lions by Jane Johnson
Gone Astray – Michelle Davies
The Way Back to FlorenceThe Way Back to Florence – Glenn Haybittle
Some others waiting to be read in my Kobo account are:
The Conjoined by Jen Sookfong Lee
At Risk by Alice Hoffman
Poles Apart by Terry Fallis
Quicksand by Steve Toltz
Barkskins by Annie Proulx

I think that’s a good start and I’ll likely add a few more at random to make the 20.

5 thoughts on “Two Summer Reading Challenges

  1. Brona says:

    I’ve been hoping to do something similar with the states and territories of Australia – you’ve inspired me!

    I also love Canadian writers – Madeliene Thien’s Do Not Say We Have Nothing was my fav book of 2016 and Kim Thuy thoroughly impressed me the year before.

    Good luck with your challenges 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

