Review: Crimes Against My Brother – David Adams Richards

2017:
2 of 5 stars
Published 2013

It’s not often that I can’t finish a book. It used to be that I would stick with almost any book to the bitter end but these days, I have decided that there are too many good books to read and if I’m not enjoying one, I won’t finish it. This was one of those. I managed about 40% before I couldn’t take any more.

David Adams Richards’ books are not easy to read. They’re dark, violent and grim, full of anger and resentment,  at least the two that I’ve read are, taking place in rural New Brunswick with the themes of poverty and struggle at the core. I opened the book to continue reading at one point and within the first half page, one man remembered his father blackening both of his eyes and a paragraph later, his boss was making him do repossessions and stealing odds and ends from those respossessees just because he could. Sheesh.

In this book there are three friends who pledge to be blood brothers but the vow is soon broken by perceived betrayal and the friends drift apart. Each struggles with their lives, each has dreams for their future and with every success, of which there are damn few, comes another failure in the end, often at the hands of a man who has the money and control over much of the area. Manipulation, control, resentment, anger, back stabbing,  it’s all there. It’s well written but can be a struggle to get there. None of the characters are happy, none of them …

If you like “gritty”, you’ll probably like this and his other books. He’s a very good writer, so he does get 2 stars, but I think I’m done with this author. Two books that I didn’t particularly enjoy is enough for me. Just not my thing. I’m publishing the review though not counting it as “read” for 2017. It was one of my Cross Canada books, for New Brunswick but I guess I’ll have to find something else to put in that slot if I can, before the end of August when the challenge ends.