Maritime Canada Author Events


Scrolling through Facebook this morning, I came across a notice from my favourite author, Diana Gabaldon. She’s coming to the Atlantic Provinces IN A FEW DAYS!! I didn’t know this and I’m gutted because she’s going to be speaking and signing in Halifax on Wednesday and it’s already sold out. Crap.

Anyway. For fans of hers and for fans of Canadian authors in general, this weekend, April 29-30, she will be at The Frye Festival in Moncton, New Brunswick.  From their website “The Frye Festival is Canada’s only bilingual international literary festival and the largest literary event in Atlantic Canada. The Frye Festival offers the best of local, Canadian and international authors, including children’s authors, graphic novelists, storytellers, poets, playwrights, spoken-word artists and more.”

I wish I had known about this before now. I likely would have made plans to go and see Ms. Gabaldon and I know I would have enjoyed the opportunity to find some great Canadian authors and books. This festival has been going all week and has featured a few other authors that I know of and have read, Wayne Grady, Zoe Whittall, Ami McKay and Madeleine Thien. I must make a note somewhere to remind myself to check out this festival and the authors that will be attending next year. I have a friend in Moncton where I can stay. Not sure if my husband would be interested but he’d go anyway, if I wanted to.

Ms. Gabaldon is appearing on Sunday, April 30 at the Delta Beauséjour at 1 p.m. Details here on ticket prices and how to get them.  She will also be at the grand opening, the Soirée Frye, with three other authors, including Madeleine Thien (Do Not Say We Have Nothing, excellent book btw).  Saturday afternoon, she’s lecturing at a conference about Imagination and the Writing Life but that is already sold out.

Then she’s in Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island on Monday, May 1 doing a reading, Q&A and signing for Reading Town  in conjunction with the National Reading Campaign, at the Delta Prince Edward hotel at 7:30. Tickets are $15 plus tax and available at Bookmarks. I don’t know the status of sell out, you can contact: 902-566-4888 or e-mail at charlottetown@bookmarkreads.ca

Her last stop is in Halifax at the Rebecca Cohn Auditorium on Wednesday, May 3 but as I mentioned, that event seems to be sold out according to the ticket purchase site.  You could contact the Dalhousie Arts Centre box office at (902) 494-3820   or 1-800-874-1669 in case of returns or last minute tickets that weren’t picked up perhaps.

One thought on “Maritime Canada Author Events

Leave a comment