To start with

central-library-20141213-001

Halifax’s beautiful Central Library

I love to read and I love to travel. I’ve had a travel blog on WordPress, Tvor Travels, for a few years and decided to start up one for my interests in reading. I’ve been a reader as long as I can remember as are all my immediate family. I read a lot and I read fast. I would love to slow down and savour the words on the page more but when I do that, I end up reading the same page over and over. Still, I can appreciate an elegant turn of phrase, a sly plot twist, and a well drawn out character.

I don’t tend to “get” books filled with symbolism and philosphy, it kind of goes over my head unless it’s really obvious. I don’t tend to read political books, self help, finance or scientific books. That aside, I like quite a good variety of types of books. My favourite is probably historical fiction. I enjoy what is now called “women’s fiction” (what we used to call “chick lit” but which isn’t PC anymore), a bit of romance, a good mystery especially if it’s about serial killers (!), general fiction, science fiction and fantasy. I like some Young Adult (YA) books, even some children’s books.  In the non-fiction world, I like history,  a biography or memoir now and then, true crime, or a book on an actual event.

I have embraced the digital age and absolutely love my Kobo eReader. I buy books, download books, borrow them from the library. I also read on my phone using the Kobo app, the Kindle app and Overdrive for library books. I do still read paper books but not nearly as many as ebooks. Because I can have so many ebooks at my fingertips, I tend to have anywhere from 3 to 5 books on the go at a time, switching back and forth depending on what I’m in the mood to read. I rarely leave a book unfinished but if it’s too much of a struggle, I’ve made a policy to give up. There are just too many good books out there to suffer through one I’m not enjoying.

So here I am with my reading blog, Reading at Large, so called because I’ve got something to read no matter where I am, home, work, on the bus, standing in the line up at the bank, you name it. I hope to post regulary with reviews, and other reading type discussions. I hope you’ll enjoy it.